When God leaves a coffee cup.

Had a date with one of my girlfriends just to have a catch up one day.

After she helped me with a few errands, we finally decided to finally have a proper talk at a coffee shop. As always, sharing tasks can be very helpful as it can save time and effort for both parties so we decided that she will order our coffee and I… will have the task to look for our seats.

You see, coffee shops in London on a weekday at 5pm aren’t really as vacant as you could imagine. It’s right after office hours and you could see the whole place packed with busy people spreading their paperwork and laptops all around the tables.

As agreed, I had to look for the preferred seats that we wanted in which my friend specifically asked for ones near a plug so she could charge her phone. I, on the other hand, was looking for seats with cushioned sofas rather than wooden chairs so that it’d be comfier.

As I’ve searched through and fro, I had to break it to her that there were no vacant tables left available at the coffee shop. At all. If we were ever so desperate to get seats, we’d have to share larger tables with strangers. Usually, we wouldn’t mind, but at that particular time, we just wanted to have our own table without disturbing anyone. We went to get coffee to battle the cold autumn weather and I travelled all the way from the other side of London just to see her so I knew I had to find good seats.

I took a quick zoom once again around the place. I don’t know if my spirit was secretly interceding but at that time, I suddenly saw a coffee table that caught my attention. I looked around and saw that there was a dirty & used coffee cup left on a table with vacant seats, I asked those who were nearby and they said no one was sitting there.

I quickly left my coat there as a universal sign that it is reserved and put away the old coffee cup by the counter. As I was about to go back, I thanked the Lord for the seats and instantly it hit me… “What if the Lord left that coffee cup as a discreet reserved sign for us? I can’t remember the countless of times I’ve seen people (and myself) have avoided a seat on the train because there was a bunch of newspapers left on it. I’ve looked around the shop and I wondered what if He put this coffee cup on this table so that no one else will be tempted to get this one?”

The table was best suited for me and my friend. It had the cushiony sofa that I wanted and had the plug socket right underneath my friend’s seat. I looked around and saw that it was actually the only public plug socket available within the area we were seated in. What a favour!

Then the revelations poured in. I know He loves everyone and He’s sovereign enough to be fair. For those who didn’t get that seat that we had, He had His own plan for them and I believe it would be best suited for them. Through it all, I can’t help but think: “How many coffee cups have the Lord left for you and me as His way of reserving the best for us?”

He has the perfect table, a perfect plan that is best suited for us. Some people may find it unappealing at the time because they could think… “Ew, it’s dirty”…  or “I can’t be bothered to clean it”… the list could go on and on. In terms of real life, it could be careers or institutions that we think are unappealing. But God just wants us to make the effort and clear one simple coffee cup and see that He reserved it for us because it was actually the best place for us. It reminded me of the institution that I was in. It wasn’t really the most renown university in London, and I wasn’t really fond of it too… but as I progressed and believed that God had a portion for me in that place, He unfolded His gracious plan. Somehow I was able to exert the love of Jesus to my classmates and also found out that this university offered a degree that best suited my preference (which by the way, was not offered in other universities, Hallelujah!). So things actually worked out not only for my own benefit, but for others too. Most especially, for the Kingdom’s cause too.

My mind’s blown after this revelation. Looking on the other side, imagine how many coffee cups have thrown us off because certain tables were reserved for someone else? This could come in different forms in our lives. Perhaps a job interview we didn’t pass? A prestigious university that we so-desperately wanted to get in but didn’t? A cute guy/girl that didn’t return our feelings? The list could go on and on. This simple revelation reminded me that Jesus doesn’t only love me, but He loves others too. God is sovereign and He knows what He is doing. He does reserve tables for other people, and I must believe that He too reserved my own special table tailored for me.

If the coffee table represented God’s will in our lives, let’s just stop and think… where would God want me to sit?

Jesus loves you.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,

And lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him,

And He shall direct your paths.

Leave a Reply

